Loading.....


White Houses by Amy Bloom Online



White Houses

White Houses

  • Title: White Houses
  • Author:
  • Rating:
  • ISBN : 9780525589921
  • Format : Paperback
  • Language :
  • Page : 320 pages


For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women People Eleanor Roosevelt and first friend Lorena Hickok.Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt s first presidential campaign Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinven For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women People Eleanor Roosevelt and first friend Lorena Hickok.Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt s first presidential campaign Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, Hick, as she s known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have She moves into the White House, where her status as first friend is an open secret, as are FDR s own lovers After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death Through it all, even as Hick s bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life.From Washington, D.C to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan s Washington Square, Amy Bloom s new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity


Author Amy Bloom

Amy Bloom is the author of Come to Me, a National Book Award finalist A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You, nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award Love Invents Us and Normal Her stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, O Henry Prize Short Stories, The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction, and many other anthologies here and abroad She has wri




White Houses Reviews (31)

  • Fifty five years after her death, and than 70 years after she left the White House following her husband s death, Eleanor Roosevelt remains one of the most intriguing women in history She certainly was a role model for trailblazing women not interested in being confined to the boxes in which societ [..]

  • The writing by Amy Bloom in White Houses is beautiful..soooo lovely We learn a lot about Lorena Hickok, American journalist her troubled childhood in South Dakota of sexual abuse abandonment poverty and starting out on her own from an early age Lorena also disclosed her relationship with Eleanor Roo [..]

  • Whenever I read fictionalized accounts of famous people I always wonder about what really happened I especially wonder about their conversations and I have to keep reminding myself that I m reading a work of fiction Amy Bloom in this wonderfully written book, imagines the relationship between Eleano [..]

  • 3.5I forgot, folks, I forgot I forgot I don t like historical fiction that s based on famous people Why was my memory snoozing when I picked up this book I remember of course, too late that I swore off reading such books after I finished Twain s End and suddenly thought Mark Twain was a jerk I used [..]

  • 5 starting my new year in reading with an absolute BANG stars to White Houses My grandmother had a saying that what you were doing when the clock strikes midnight on New Year s Eve is what you will be doing all year long I always thought it was some kind of scare tactic I shared that with some of my [..]

  • Next Reviews ↠


Books Related with White Houses by Amy Bloom


free-newbooks.com is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.