Loading.....


The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg Online



The Story of Arthur Truluv

The Story of Arthur Truluv

  • Title: The Story of Arthur Truluv
  • Author:
  • Rating:
  • ISBN : 9781524798710
  • Format : Paperback
  • Language :
  • Page : 272 pages


I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human Fannie Flagg An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human Fannie Flagg An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Elizabeth Berg s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers heartstrings BooklistFor the past six months, Arthur Moses s days have looked the same He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life.Eighteen year old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school One afternoon she joins Arthur a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls Moved by Arthur s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname Truluv As Arthur s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.Look for a sneak peek of Elizabeth Berg s delightful new novel, Night of Miracles, in the back of the book For several days after finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv , I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we re all neighbors here Chicago Tribune Not since Paul Zindel s classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should People, Book of the Week


Author Elizabeth Berg

Elizabeth Berg is the New York Times bestselling author of many novels, including We Are All Welcome Here, The Year of Pleasures, The Art of Mending, Say When, True to Form, Never Change, and Open House, which was an Oprah s Book Club selection in 2000 Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year, and Talk Before Sleep was short listed for the ABBY Award in 1996 The w




The Story of Arthur Truluv Reviews (31)

  • Every now and then I need to take a break from the mysteries and find something that reminds me how sweet life can be This book fits the bill Arthur is an 85 year old widow who visits his wife s cemetery plot every day for lunch There, he meets Maddy, a 17 year old who is unpopular and doesn t have [..]

  • 3.5 It is hard not to absolutely adore Arthur, an 82 year old gentlemen He misses his wife terribly, she passed on the year before ands everyday he goes to the cemetery, taking his lunch and lawn chair, to spend time by her grave This is where he meets Maddy, 17, doesn t seem to fit in anywhere, not [..]

  • The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg is a 2017 Random House publication Remarkable, poignant, and inspiring Eighty five year old Arthur misses his beloved wife so much, he packs a lunch and carries it out to her grave to have lunch with her While on his lunch break, he notices a young girl, [..]

  • It s sweet, predictably sad yet uplifting , maybe a little sappy , and I loved reading it Nothing earth shattering happens except in the small world of eighty five year Arthur who has lost his wife and seventeen year old Maddy who lost her mother at birth and loses her father to his grief They meet [..]

  • What is it that makes a family Certainly no document does, no legal pronouncement or accident of birth No, real families come from choices we make about who we want to be bound to, and the ties to such families lie in our hearts This is a book about three individuals who have relatively little in co [..]

  • Next Reviews ↠


Books Related with The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg


free-newbooks.com is in no way intended to support illegal activity. We uses Search API to find the overview of books over the internet, but we don't host any files. All document files are the property of their respective owners, please respect the publisher and the author for their copyrighted creations. If you find documents that should not be here please report them. Read our DMCA Policies and Disclaimer for more details.